Browsing Category:

Book Review

  • Book Review | Finding Audrey

    screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-19-34-pmfinding-audrey-cover-jpeg

    Author | Sophie Kinsella
    Published | Delacorte Books for Young Readers (June 9th 2015)
    Pages | 286
    Source | Library
    Format | Hardcover
    GoodReads Rating | 3.83
    Where to buy | Amazon + Book Depository

    Description | An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

    This book had me so engaged my friends had to rip it out of my hands to get my attention.screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-22-03-pm

    When I started this book I didn’t have high expectations for it. I’d heard about it several times in the blogging community and through goodreads but just from the description I wasn’t as enticed as I usually am with contemporary novels.

    In the beginning I read about 20 pages and was just very bored and eventually got distracted from reading in general. I really hate to put down a book and not pick it up again after I have already gotten a start on it, so this meant I had to finish it. Personally being one of those people who are really into the relationships blooming in contemporary novels you don’t really see much in the first few pages of this book but honestly it could have just been me being impatient after not reading a full novel in over a month.

    After coming back to it and telling myself maybe it gets better I was so pleasantly surprised, suddenly you learn about these new characters like Linus and Natalie.

    Sophie Kinsella’s writing style is amazing, I felt so intertwined with the story because there really were no dull moments. I personally enjoy how she split the chapters so they were very short, I always find if the chapters are more than 10 pages it makes it very hard to read. With smaller chapters it makes me think “okay well the next chapter is only 2 pages I can get through that before I have to go do the dishes” and then “oh look a one page chapter I can squeeze that in too!” Thus starts the never ending cycle of not wanting to put it down at all.

    I also kind of enjoyed how every once in a while you would read the story through the perspective of Audrey holding the camera. I thought that was kind of unique seeing a video direction type of style!

    Honestly after that first initial set back in the beginning I fell absolutely in love with this book. You can really feel what Audrey is going through and how the ups and down of the life graph effect her in the novel.

    Would ABSOLUTELY recommend to those who love contemporary novels as much as I do! 5/5 stars!!book-rating-5

    Okay little bit more of a discussion past this line! If you have not read this book but want to then WARNING SPOILERS!!!

    Read more

    0
  • Book Review | All The Bright Places

    All the bright places thumbnail

    51bBbJPlfNLAuthor | Jennifer Niven
    Published | Knopf (January 6th 2015)
    Pages | 400
    Source | Birthday Gift
    Format | Hardcover
    GoodReads Rating | 4.19
    Where to buy | Amazon + Book Depository

    DescriptionTheodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
     
    Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
     
    When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
     
    This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

    Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 5.59.52 PMNew all time favourite book!

    Right from the beginning I was expecting this to be a good book. I had read so many reviews and discussions about this book and it made me want to read it so badly. When I received it for my 17th birthday I was ecstatic and started reading immediately. It kept me up until 1 am wondering what will come next for Finch and Violet. This book took me approximately 8 hours to finish and it was the best 8 hours of my life.

    This book was mainly based around the relationship between Finch and Violet. I found it amazing how much each of them grew in terms of character development. I don’t normally see something like this but it seemed as if each of them were changing constantly throughout the novel.

    Even though this book was long it didn’t seem that way when reading. That is exactly what you want in a novel, for you to be so immersed in the story that you don’t even think about the length.

    Jennifer Niven is such an amazing writer especially being this is her first young adult novel. Jennifer was able to bring such character into each of them. You knew basically everything about the characters by the end of the novel and learned why they acted as they did in the novel. This book definitely left something with me which is very hard to do in a novel. This book will definitely stay with me forever.

    Some of my favourite quotes from the novel.

    “The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.” 

    “You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…”

    “No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring.”

    “What if life could be this way? Only the happy parts, none of the terrible, not even the mildly unpleasant. What if we could just cut out the bad and keep the good? This is what I want to do with Violet – give her only the good, keep away the bad, so that good is all we ever have around us.” 

    Book Rating All the bright places

    Overall I give this book 5/5 stars. Definitely my favourite book I have ever read. If you like contemporary YA novels you will love this.

    Here is where the spoilers and further discussion starts. If you have not read this novel but are going to, do not read past here.

    Read more

    2
  • Book Review | City of Bones (Mortal Instruments Book 1)

    Book review city of bones main picture
    Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.59.59 PMThe Mortal Instruments (Book one) City of Bones

    Author | Cassandra Clare
    Series | Mortal Instruments
    Published | Margaret K. McElderry Books (February 19, 2008)
    Pages | 485
    Source | Bought
    Format | Paperback
    GoodReads Rating | 4.12
    Where to BuyAmazon + Book Depository

    Description | When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

    This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

    Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

    Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.46.47 PMThis book made me internally and externally scream way to many times!

    This book series has been sitting in my basement for the past 3 years collecting dust. While it was down there I had no idea what I was missing.

    I have heard of the book City of Bones everywhere for years! I mean they made a huge movie (which I even watched), and they have just finished season one of the netflix show!

    This book series has been the back of my mind for forever and last week I decided, hey, why not pick it up and take a gander.

    Honestly this is such a great book! I loved it all but the length… phew.. that gave me a headache. I feel like Cassandra put as much information as she could into this book. I mean its probably fine and its just me having not read a book this size in over a year.

     The writing was amazing and I was able to easily follow along. I find that is pretty hard to achieve in a book this large because you have introduced so many names and phrases that they sometimes get jumbled up, but in this book I was able to understand all the new and quite interesting phrases thrown in there.

    I loved how it was set in such a large city like New York. I was able to quite literally visualize what was going on and exactly where they were.

    Now the Characters! Wow yes! Cassandra was able to put so much depth and detail into each of the characters. You got to learn a lot about each of the characters and in my opinion there was not a character that you didn’t understand their intentions or their backstory.

    Looking though the eyes of Clary Fray and seeing her journey was very interesting and fast paced. Clary had all these things thrown at her very quickly and yet I believe she held herself together quite well for the situation. If this happened to me I would most likely be freaking out 10 times more than she did.

    City of bones rating 3.5

    Although I rated this book 3.5/5 I will be definitely reading the 2nd book in the series starting asap!
    To know why read the discussion below!

    Spoilers And Further Discussion Starts Here! Do Not Read Any Farther If You Wish To Read This Book!

    Read more

    1