Book Review | All The Bright Places

All the bright places thumbnail

51bBbJPlfNLAuthor | Jennifer Niven
Published | Knopf (January 6th 2015)
Pages | 400
Source | Birthday Gift
Format | Hardcover
GoodReads Rating | 4.19
Where to buy | Amazon + Book Depository

DescriptionTheodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 5.59.52 PMNew all time favourite book!

Right from the beginning I was expecting this to be a good book. I had read so many reviews and discussions about this book and it made me want to read it so badly. When I received it for my 17th birthday I was ecstatic and started reading immediately. It kept me up until 1 am wondering what will come next for Finch and Violet. This book took me approximately 8 hours to finish and it was the best 8 hours of my life.

This book was mainly based around the relationship between Finch and Violet. I found it amazing how much each of them grew in terms of character development. I don’t normally see something like this but it seemed as if each of them were changing constantly throughout the novel.

Even though this book was long it didn’t seem that way when reading. That is exactly what you want in a novel, for you to be so immersed in the story that you don’t even think about the length.

Jennifer Niven is such an amazing writer especially being this is her first young adult novel. Jennifer was able to bring such character into each of them. You knew basically everything about the characters by the end of the novel and learned why they acted as they did in the novel. This book definitely left something with me which is very hard to do in a novel. This book will definitely stay with me forever.

Some of my favourite quotes from the novel.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.” 

“You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…”

“No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring.”

“What if life could be this way? Only the happy parts, none of the terrible, not even the mildly unpleasant. What if we could just cut out the bad and keep the good? This is what I want to do with Violet – give her only the good, keep away the bad, so that good is all we ever have around us.” 

Book Rating All the bright places

Overall I give this book 5/5 stars. Definitely my favourite book I have ever read. If you like contemporary YA novels you will love this.

Here is where the spoilers and further discussion starts. If you have not read this novel but are going to, do not read past here.

Okay Finch and Violets relationship was adorable. They grew from this confusing friendship to a full blown love story. I really feel that Finch was able to discover himself with Violet. She changed him for the better, she kept his mind off the inevitable and gave him the perfect day. He was willing to go through the rough patches to get to the good, he was willing to go and talk to her parents just so she would feel okay about this whole relationship.

Finch also started to help violet. After her sister died, Violet basically was in a rut and was stuck there doing nothing and just pushing out everything and everyone that made her happy before. When she met Finch the dials started to turn in her and made her find new things that made her happy like their wonderings and the possibility of starting her new website.

I really don’t understand why in the end Finch had to go and kill himself. I realize he was obsessed with death and even warned Violet about his behaviour but he had violet and they could have made up. I feel like they could have saved each other if they tried. I basically started crying when she went searching for him because I knew what was coming. I really wish it wouldn’t have come to that. It was a good progression to the end of the book though. I really did enjoy it when Violet realized that Finch was sending clues about where he was wandering. In the end Finch died in one of the most unused ways of suicide so I guess he got his wish of dying in a unique way. The end of the novel has me wondering for ages what he wrote on the ball of paint. I really wish I could know haha.

Hope you all enjoyed! I really like sharing my opinion on novels here! I hope some of you maybe go out and get this book! If you have already read it leave me a comment about what you thought of it!

There should be a more fashion and beauty based post next! Look forward to that!

ending blog

2

You may also like

2 Comments

  • kinga

    This isn’t my type of genre but i’ve been hearing so much about this, with every read review i long to read it even more <3

    May 8, 2016 at 2:56 pm Reply
  • BEYO11

    a nice choice, one of my off the normal track book, seemingly a love story. Love how the author have the story told by the characters. Love who the story twists and turn. Great review Mz Lauryn!!

    November 3, 2017 at 1:56 pm Reply
  • Leave a Reply